Posted on

Mars Attacks Miniatures Board Game by Mantic Games

I’ve always liked the martians from the Mars Attacks trading cards, as they have skeletal faces and look incredibly grotesque. Okay, they aren’t undead, but they sure look like they could be.

When I found out Mantic Games were producing a Mars Attacks board game full of miniatures, i backed the project on Kickstarter. I ended up with almost everything produced for the game and I’ve got to say; it’s great fun. The rules play a bit like ‘Deadzone Lite’, but I mean that in a good way. Very fast paced and full of action, with a high casualty rate as Martian Grunts and United States Marines alike die in droves.

Here’s my painted Martian Grunts, along with one of my favourite models ever; the Giant Stompy Robot (GSR).

Martians

The Martians are coming!

Martians (7)

Ack, Ack ACK!!!

The GSR is huge! I’ve painted mine in a green and red colour scheme, to match the robot in the original trading card series. The scenery here is from Deadzone. I haven’t painted any of the ruined brick scenery that comes with the Mars Attacks game yet, so I used some of what I’ve painted for Deadzone as a backdrop for these shots.

Here’s the United States Marines:

MarinesMarines (3)

I’m quite pleased with how the camo effect turned out. When I was painting it, it just looked crude and messy, but once the Marines were finished and the bases done, the effect looked more ‘at home’. not perfect, but I’m happy enough with them.

Lastly, for the fun of it, here’s a few photos of Martians vs Marines. Ack Ack ACK!!!

Marines vs MartiansMarines vs Martians (1)

Knife fight up on high:

Marines vs Martians (2)

And the view from the cockpit of the GSR:

Marines vs Martians (6)

About theotherone42

https://wordpress.com/me

2 responses to “Mars Attacks Miniatures Board Game by Mantic Games

  1. mister c ⋅

    It is indeed a great game ser, and for those who don’t know, the Martians can be used in Deadzone too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Mars Attacks Miniatures Board Game by Mantic Games | The Other One's Vault of the Undead

Leave a Reply

