Posted on

Games Workshop Walls & Fences

Over a year ago I bought Game Workshop’s Fortified Manor House set. Part of this kit isd a set of walls and fences.

With me having received my Kings of War second edition rulebook, I’ve decided it’s about time I painted some scenery. You’ll see the hills I recently painted in an earlier blog post below. I wanted to get some practise painting stone ready for tackling my Tabletop World Windmill and Stone Bridge, so thought I’d start with these walls:

Walls & Fences 006The walls/fences come in separate pieces, with several ‘double’ and single lengths. The detail and texture on them is superb, as you can see in these piece by piece photos:

Walls & Fences 008

As part of my day job I recently went to a meeting in Hawes in the Yorkshire Dales, so I paid careful attention to the dry stone walls there, making a mental note of the colours. I noticed that they were a lot more grey than the cut and dressed stone used to make buildings here in Yorkshire. So when it comes to painting the Tabletop World Stone Bridge and Windmill, I’ll need to use a more golden base colour. But in principle, i feel happy I’ve got a handle on how I’m going to paint them.

Walls & Fences 010

Walls & Fences 011

I experimented with some “Late fall Oak Foilage” by ‘Mininatur’, snipping some off and using PVA to glue it to the branches. Crude effort, but  think the final result looks quite good.

Walls & Fences 007

Walls & Fences 015

Walls & Fences 014

People can say what they like about GW’s pricing, policies and business practise (my views are generally negative), but there’s no denying that they have produced some superb miniatures and terrain pieces. I think the detail on these is great. And I like the fun touches. Did you spot the little Snotling/Imp hiding in the photo above..?

Walls & Fences 013

Walls & Fences 012

I used the wrong colour of static grass to base these pieces. If you look, you’ll see it’s darker than the grass on the scenic boards. Bit annoyed with myself, but I can live with it.

About theotherone42

https://wordpress.com/me

2 responses to “Games Workshop Walls & Fences

  1. mister c ⋅

    Nice work there. I have a set of those too, I must get around to finishing them.
    Regarding stone colour (puts geologists hat on) it depends on what you are trying to represent. The typical Dales dry stone walls are made of whatever is lying around*, so can be either sandstones or limestone. Buildings will tend towards a better quality of stone (depending on how well off the builder is) so will tend towards a more consistent colour.

    *Quite literally. The original walls were built of the stones that were cleared from the fields, thus both clearing and protecting the land in one go. The walls we see today are later, mostly 18th century or later; usually a result of one of the ‘Inclosures Acts’.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Whoot. Happy medium between design and chance here then. I’m intending for the Windmill and Stone Bridge to have more of a golden cut stone colour to them, but with other colours thrown in here and there. The bridge looks like a toll.bridge, so in my fluff, somebody wealthy had it built, to further their own interests (and wealth). When I come to paint the Fortified Manor House, that will be made of far better quality stone 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

