Posted on

Tabletop World Stone Bridge, Painted

I’ve finally finished painting this lovely Stone Bridge kit by Tabletop World:

IMG_7268

The level of detail on this resin kit is SUPERB You can see it unpainted here in one of my earlier blog posts.

The kit has been fun to paint. Challenging too, as when I’ve been holding the kit to get at certain parts of it, I was rubbing paint I’d already applied from other areas, but I got there in the end 🙂

There are so many lovely details, like the pulley above the second floor doors, the ropes hanging from the walls and the little extras you get with the kit, such as the sack of grain, bundle, bucket and rowboat you can see below.

IMG_7271

Little details like missing shingles and bodged repairs add loads of character.

IMG_7279

I wanted to paint the stonework to look similar to the Yorkshire stone found in my adopted home county of Yorkshire. Uncut, the stone is a dull sandy grey colour, but when cut, it’s a lovely sandy golden colour, that lights up in sunlight.

Now to be honest, I didn’t quite get the hue right. I used a white undercoat, which made my base colour a little too bright, so in retrospect, black or even grey would have been better, as I used for my Deathknell Watch . Still, I’m happy with the overall effect, even if it isn’t quite what I was picturing in my mind’s eye.

IMG_7276

For the stone, I airbrushed on a base colour of Vallejo Golden Brown. I then added small amounts of bone, brown, grey and green, sometimes combinations of several of these, to the base colour and then pick out individual blocks of stone in the different shades I’d produced. I washed all the stonework in Army Painter Soft Tone ink and then drybrushed on the original base colour, sand and then pure white.

Wood was painted with Vallejo US Army Drab, washed with Army Painter Strong Tone ink and the drybrushed with sand and bone. The shingles were painted Vallejo Blue Grey (a choice of base colour I ‘umm’ed and ‘ahh’ed  over for some time), washed with Strong Tone ink and then highlighted with the gradually lightened shades of the base colour up to pure white.

IMG_7280

I picked out the many, MANY little pegs in the woodwork and shingles with a combination of silver and black. Windows in the main building were painted a bright blue and then a more dull grey ‘reflection’ was added, before the leadwork was picked out in a dark grey (boy, did this bit test my patience…)

I wanted the lanterns on the bridge’s parapets to look like they were lit, so painted them in  a warm orange highlighted with brighter yellows.

The main building has two interior sections too. Here’s the ground floor:

IMG_7282

And the top floor:

IMG_7281

I’m going to buy some furniture from Tabletop World and use it to decorate these interiors. Firstly, I’m going to enter this Stone Bridge into Tabletop World’s 2016 painting competition. I don’t expect to win anything, but you never know. Need to be in it to win it and all that. I’ll need to try and take some better photos first.

IMG_7286

Thanks for reading 🙂

 

 

 

About theotherone42

https://wordpress.com/me

6 responses to “Tabletop World Stone Bridge, Painted

  1. Pingback: Kings of War: Undead Vs Orcs | The Other One's Vault of the Undead

  2. FattyLumpkin ⋅

    Great work! What color primer did you use? I’m getting my first Tabletop World items soon and am new to painting. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Steven. Thanks very much. I used a white primer, just plain ol’ Vallejo white applied with my airbrush – but to be honest, I feel this made the golden brown a bit too golden. I’d prefer for it to be a shade or two darker, so I will use grey primer or maybe black in the future, especially when I paint my Tabletop World Windmill and Forge.

      Cheers!

      Like

      • FattyLumpkin ⋅

        Thanks for the response. It’s always nice to hear what really good painters are doing. I’ve only painted a couple pieces but have been using a light Vallejo grey or the black. Black is harder for my old eyes to identify detail but I manage. The light grey I have had to compensate for by doing a wash or multiple coats of paint.
        Keep up the great work. Thanks for posting your projects. It helps to provide basic ideas as well as inspire!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Forgotten City: Secret Weapon Tablescapes Tiles – Completed | The Other One's Vault of the Undead

  4. Pingback: Tabletop World Windmill, Painted | The Other One's Vault of the Undead

Leave a Reply

