Posted on

Mantic Landing Pad for Deadzone and Warpath, Painted

Outpost 31, the setting for my games of Deadzone, can now include a landing pad in its list of facilities.

Landing-Pad (5)

This Battlezones kit has some useful and fun pieces, such as 45 degree angled plates, steps and support legs. I’ve combined my Landing Pad Battlezone with pieces from the what were labelled as Urban Expansion D sprues in the Deadzone Kickstarter, although I can’t find them on Mantic’s web store at the moment to be able add a link up to illustrate which parts I mean.

I’ve built a 3 by 3 cube pad, as I felt that the 4 by 4 pad you can build from the kit is just too large to be practical in a standard game of Deadzone. I added to the basic landing pad  kit by using some of the aforementioned Urban Expansion D sprues to build up the bulkheads around the base of the pad . I’ve also added a modular tower for personnel to be able to embark and disembark from the pad. This is a separate piece to the pad, giving me some additional flexibility for set up (and making the kit easier to store).

I’ve moved away from my usual colour scheme of ‘industrial yellow’ for the landing pad and opted for a more utilitarian blue/grey colour instead. A friend has loaned me his set of stencils by Anarchy Models, which have proved very useful in adding some bits of detail, like the hazard stripes you can see on the triangular sections of the main pad, below.

Landing-Pad (1)

In the photo below you can just make out the dusty trail leading from the centre of the pad towards the top of the photo, left by personnel as they leave their vehicle and cross the pad heading for the elevator in the tower. The rest of the landing pad looks a bit too clean for my liking. I intend to add some scorch marks from the vehicle that lands there, but I’m waiting to receive wave 2 of the Warpath Kickstarter, which will include the Hornet vehicle. Once I have that, I can see where the thrusters are located on the kit and then paint scorch marks on the pad so they match the relevant positioning of the Hornet’s thrusters.

Landing-Pad (6)

A better look at the trail of muck left by footfall, along with general weathering added by edge sponging dark brown paint here and there.

Landing-Pad (3)

The tower used to gain access to and from the pad:

Landing-Pad (8)

Signs of the damage caused by the current Plague outbreak at Outpost 31:

Landing-Pad (2)

A more intact section of the landing pad’s superstructure.

Landing-Pad (7)

Agh! Speaking of the Plague, looks like another assault is starting. Kinda convenient to help give a sense of scale to the landing pad, though 😉

Landing-Pad (10)

Whoa, this Stage 3 Ghoul is getting a little trigger happy! I’m going to sign off and head for cover. Thanks for reading! 🙂

Landing-Pad (9)

About theotherone42

https://wordpress.com/me

Leave a Reply

