The Other One’s Painting Guide: Mazon Labs Urbana Blackwing Marines and Rangers

In the weeks before Deadzone 3rd Edition was released, I’d been playing games of Star Saga, using my friend Mr. C’s well-painted miniatures and scenery. I’ve always liked the Urbana Blackwing sculpts and the way that my friend has painted his, so I thought I’d give my Mazon Labs faction a bit of a boost by cracking on with some Urbana Blackwing Marines of my own. I chose the three sculpts below and set about painting them to match the Blackwing Rangers on Monocycles I’d already painted (which you can find, along with the rest of my Mazon Labs strike team, here).

I undercoated/basecoated the Marines with Citadel Wraithbone contrast primer:

Then slapped a coat of Black Templar contrast paint over the helmets, armour, webbing, weapons and boots:

The Blackwing’s BDUs were base coated using Vallejo Model Colour Burnt Red #70.814 and the faces with Vallejo Model Colour Basic Skintone #70.815.

The rest of the painting was very quick to do.

I gave the helmets, armour, weapons etc painted with Black Templar a quick drybrush of Vallejo Game Colour Glacier Blue #72.095 to further accentuate the detail. The BDU received a quick and not-too-careful highlight of Vallejo Model Colour Red #70.947. I picked out some of the pouches in Vallejo Model Colour Chocolate Brown #70.872 , then washed the pouches and skin with Army Painter Strong Tone Ink. A glow effect was added to the rifles using a light blue highlighted with white, the bases were textured with sand and PVA glue and when dry, painted with Vallejo Model Colour Dark Grey #70.994 and drybrushed with the Vallejo Glacier Blue and ta-dah. Done! They won’t win any painting competitions, but I think they’re great for a gaming standard.

Emboldened at how quickly I’d managed to get the Marines painted (the drying time for the PVA glue over the sand took longer than the actual painting), I also set about painting two Urbana Blackwing Rangers. You can see them both in the featured image at the top of the blog, but here’s closer look at the Ranger armed with a flamer – I just LOVE this sculpt.

As always, thanks for reading! 🙂

Published by The Other One

https://wordpress.com/me

3 thoughts on “The Other One’s Painting Guide: Mazon Labs Urbana Blackwing Marines and Rangers

Leave a comment