Painted Xenomorph Eggs and Facehuggers for Aliens: Another Glorious Day in the Corps

After all the time I’ve spent painting USC marine camouflage and doors (after doors, after doors…agh) I decided I needed a little palette cleaner. I decided the Alien eggs and the Facehugger miniatures would be perfect for this:

These were nice, simple paintjobs. I undercoated the eggs in black and the ‘Huggers in white. The bottom third of each egg was painted a dark green, the top third a lighter shade and the middle section with a combinations of the two. An Army Painter strong tone wash helped blend the three colour ‘bands’ together and once the eggs had been dry brushed with a lighter green still, the colours blended together well. I decided they looked a little too vibrant, so added a black wash to the lower third of each egg and the nest of tubes that they sit on. The egg’s ‘lips’ were painted with a flesh tone, highlighted with a lighter shade and I then dribble some Strong Tone wash into the crevices to give more definition. I added a few dabs of yellow here and there at the tops of the eggs to accentuate the scaly texture there. A coat of gloss varnish later and done. Well, almost.

I decided to try and add some goop to the tops of the two eggs that are opening. I slopped some UHU glue onto the tops of these two eggs and drew strands of it across from one peeling section of egg to the other. You can kinda see them, but the effect isn’t as pronounced as I might have liked. Plus it’s pretty fragile, so I anticipate that as the eggs rattle around in their foam storage and are handled during setting up and gameplay, these strands will get worn away.

The two Facehuggers were next. Again, nice simple paintjobs. Base coat of Citadel Cadian Fleshtone all over, a darker shade of the same in the very, er, (eww) feminine looking underside where the ovipositor emerges. An Army Painter Strong Tone wash all over then drybrush and highlights applied with a lightened shade of the Cadian Fleshtone.

Here’s an (unfortunateely blurry) closer look at some of the above:

If you’ve enjoyed this look at these miniatures, you may like my other blog posts showcasing the ‘Aliens: Another Glorious Day in the Corps’ board game miniatures and a range of great resin scenery that’s available for it:

Painted Ripley, Newt and Burke

Painted United States Colonial Marines

Aliens: AGDITC Painted Xenomorphs

Hanley’s Hope Office Set

Hanley’s Hope Hypersleep Pods 

Hanley’s Hope Cargo Bay set

Hanley’s Hope Canteen set

Hanley’s Hope Tractor & Lifter

Aliens: AGDITC Get Away from Her You B***h expansion

Aliens: AGDITC Ultimate Badasses expansion

Aliens: AGDITC core set

As always – thanks for reading! 🙂

Published by The Other One

https://wordpress.com/me

Leave a comment